Go With The Ebb And Flow

Last year, my friends at Emporia Sewing Patterns sent me a free copy of their new pattern, the Penelope dress. Now, I’ll be honest, I didn’t immediately love it.

Because my preference is for a more fitted silhouette, I had been resisting the “toddler dress” trend. You know the sort, puffy sleeved, wide fitting style, full gathered skirt, sometimes with buttons down the back. But there was something about the Penelope that made me eager to try it. The sleeves looked phenomenal! I loved the v- neck and the fact that the bodice is lined. So I decided to give it a try.

Whenever I’m unsure of a pattern, I play it safe by making it in my favourite colour or favourite fabric. So my first attempt at the Penelope was made in a joyful ankara print. I decided I didn’t want a maxi, I prefer a midi length, so I lengthened the skirt piece a little and didn’t add the bottom tier.

Well, I was really surprised by how much I loved the dress. There are no fastenings which made for a straight forward make, and quite enjoyable, barring the gathering, which I never enjoy. But the finished dress looked so good and was so comfy and easy to wear. It became one of my most worn dresses of 2023. Bonus points for pockets and being able to be layered.

Some time after this make, I noticed that my body was beginning to behave strangely. I put it down to aging and tried to ignore it, but after a while I realised a trip to the GP was necessary. Nothing super alarming was found, just extremely low iron and the presence of sizable fibroids.

I gave up weighing myself quite a few years ago for my own well being and in order to foster a better relationship with my body. But as a sewist, I am frequently taking my measurements and have become acutely aware of changes to my body. I was noticing a thickening of my torso and my lower abdomen was a little extended. Some of my recent makes had suddenly become uncomfortable to wear and that was upsetting.

The bloating, discomfort and the occasional pain as well as the uncertainty over treatment was beginning to get me down, reminding me of my past fertility struggles. I really had to pray hard for the strength not to go into a downward spiral of self pity. I remembered to be thankful for my two precious daughters, thankful that treatment was available and thankful that I was otherwise healthy.

But my changing body meant that I would need to change my style and I wasn’t sure what that would look like.

I had been gifted 2.5 meters of gorgeous viscose twill from a local fabric store, Ray Stitch. I wanted to use it to make a dress that wasn’t too fancy and that I would want to wear on repeat and one that would be really comfortable. Nothing tight around my tummy. I also really didn’t want to buy a new pattern but to use what I already had. It took me a while to realise that the dress I needed was another Penelope.

Because I only had 2.5 metres, the skirt isn’t quite as full and gathered but I think it still works beautifully. The more drapy fabric gives a less structured look than the ankara one but the sleeves still make a loud statement.

As with my African wax print fabrics, I believe that a beautiful, patterned fabric doesn’t need to be made into a busy, fussy garment. A simple design let’s the fabric do the talking. The Penelope is that elevated toddler dress that perfectly shows off this gorgeous fabric.

This is a style of dress I am happy to get used to wearing. The darts give shape to the bodice and the v-neck is graceful. This was a happy make, an injection of joy in a low spell.

I must have been radiating joy when I was out with my daughter getting shots of the dress because our local street sweeper asked to join in with the photoshoot! What a laugh!

This period of life has taught me and is teaching me that I’ve got to learn to go with the ebb and flow of things. My body is changing, and thankfully, because I can sew, I can tailor my wardrobe accordingly. It’s taught me to embrace new styles and get out of that rut of mourning over what I can’t wear. And I’m reminded again that smiling, laughing and enjoying life is infectious 😅

Published by The Unpickstitch Papers

I'm a teacher, baker and own clothes maker. I like to read, I like to work out. I wish there was more time in the day to do life. I have 1 husband, 2 daughters and no dogs yet, though I'm working on wearing my hubby down!

6 thoughts on “Go With The Ebb And Flow

  1. This is lovely, and looks great on you! I laugh at your toddler description, and agree – this might make me a fan of the style!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started